8 Things I Learned During My First Semester In The Clinical Division

It has become a cliche. Clinical Division is a hard nut to crack. But I never knew that the cliche was real until I myself experienced it.

Today officially marks the end of the first semester. Just as my professors say, the first semester is the ‘adjusting period’ of the students in CD. Yes, indeed! And this period of adjustment has taught me many lessons on which I am going to share eight of them to you right now.

1. Tomorrow Never Really Comes. Procrastination kills. It gives you false hopes that you could get better tomorrow anyway. But in CD, there is no tomorrow. If you are planning to give your best shot, give it now!

2. Complacency Destroys. I learned this even before I was in CD. Having a satisfactory standing grade does not mean decreasing your efforts in that particular subject. Never ever be complacent! If you get 98, exert more effort to get 100. There is no one else you got to beat but the one that is you are yesterday.

3. Grades Do Not Define Who You Are. This has been my ruling principle since high school. But it doesn’t mean that I do not aim for high grades. I do aim for As. But I do not measure my value based on the grades I receive. I have observed many who think of themselves as unimportant because they just get B or C. I believe that the Lord still loves His children even without that A. So I have no right to judge my fellow based on the grade he receives.

4. Prioritize But Never Compromise. Yes! Being in CD is really difficult. But that doesn’t mean that my life will be concentrated only to studying just to succeed over cracking this hard nut. I do prioritize my academic responsibilities but I make sure that the other aspects of my student life (especially the spiritual aspect) is not compromised. I believe that the Lord wants me to grow wholly. Not just academically.

5. The Lord is Faithful! He Had Always Been. I had come to a point this semester when I lost all my hopes. I even almost gave up on my dreams. And I was thinking of shifting to another medical course. But one thing I had never let go of is the Lord’s grip on my hand. Trusted and proven, if we just believe the Lord will give us things more than what we asked for—things that we had never imagined!

6. Two Is Better Than One. No one has ever reached the peak of a mountain alone. Climbing up with a company always makes the journey easier. That is why I am so thankful to God for my friends—Awesome Friends (that is how we call our barkarda). Ecclesiastes 4:9-10 speaks of the value of having friends. If it were not for my friends, I would have given up.

7. Better Surrender. White flag up! Head bowed down! Pray to the Lord, “I surrender. Please take control. I cannot do this without You.”Β  I always keep in mind that this battle is not mine, it is the Lord’s (2 Chronicles 20:15). And I know that no battle is too hard for Him. So, I surrender! I surrender all to Him!

8. Clinical Division Is Like A Box of Toys. You can never tell what is inside. Yes, I may have survived the first quarter of the whole Clinical Division. But I do not know what will happen next semester (I know it is even harder), next school year and come the internship days!Β  But one thing I am sure of is that my Heavenly Father will not give His children anything that will harm them. I know that He has plans for me. Plans to prosper me, to give me hope, and to lead me to a bright future (Jeremiah 29:11).

 

Leave a Reply

