Medical School Interview at WVSU

Hey there! To make an update on my blog segment Journey To MD, here’s the story on how my first ever medical school interview went.

I sent my application to West Visayas State University mid-March this year. Good thing they have an online form and they accept applications sent through LBC or JRS. If you are planning to send an application to WVSU but you are outside Ilo-Ilo, you may check their website or call the registrar. Mine was sent via LBC and was addressed directly to WVSU Committee of Admissions.

I actually did not expect I’ll make it to the interview due to my NMAT score. (Check out my NMAT story to find out more). I am not sure but I heard that everyone who sent an application was actually interviewed.

There were three batches for the interview with around 140 applicants each, one batch a day. I was fortunate to be on the first batch. Fortunate for a reason I, too, do not know. I just assume first batch people have higher chances of getting accepted. HAHA. But I have no basis for that. So don’t believe what I say, at least, on this paragraph.

I went to WVSU Roxas Hall (that is where the College of Medicine is) at around 6:45 am. Interview was scheduled at 07:30 am. I can’t deny I’m nervous. I actually did not sleep decently the night before. I was begging the butterflies to fly out of my stomach. Sadly, they didn’t. They loved me so much they joined me until I finished the interview.

Not long before I took my seat at the mono block along the hallways of Roxas Hall, a certain middle-aged woman who looks like the registrar invited us to get inside the room so we could begin filling-up our information sheets and writing down our essays. Yup, there was an essay.

We were arranged alphabetically and were divided into six groups. After filling-up seven pages of the same information sheet, we were asked to put on our sticker name tags and proceed to the room where our group was assigned to.

I was cold. And alone. Everyone had their buddy. So I had to be brave and defeat my introvert self. I tried to talk to the people sitting beside me. I was hesitant at first. What if they don’t speak Tagalog? What if they don’t like talking to a stranger? What if they can’t understand me? So many what ifs. Long story short, I was able to make friends with at least five of them. We talked about where we came from, our pre-med courses, how the interview might go, and how excited we were to study medicine. I never expected talking to strangers would lessen the tension. Well, I guess that’s the advantage of waiting. Oh yes! We waited for three long hours before we were finally interviewed.

The interview lasted for about an hour. There were six of us with seven panelists inside the room. The doctor with the nicest voice began by introducing themselves before he spoke the first question which was directed to me.

Tell us something about yourself.

I nervously spoke. Well, uhm. I’m Jessica Comedian. That’s serious…

They laughed (that joke works for me all the time haha). I continued by telling them about my hobbies, my family background, and why I decided to pursue medicine.

There was a long exchange of questions and answers between the panelists and the six of us.

How do you handle stress?

Elaborate your experiences on working with groups/being a leader.

What do you think are the qualities we are looking for medschool applicants?

Would you stop practicing medicine in case you inadvertently killed a patient?

And the hardest question they asked me:

Why did you chose WVSU instead of your Alma Mater—AUP?

One thing I learned about this interview is that one has to be HONEST. Do not pretend to be someone else. Be true. Be yourself. In all those questions thrown to me, I answered honestly. And I think that is what made me an effective interviewee (at least, that is what I choose to believe).

Overall, I think I did well on the interview. Results will be posted on May 15. Among around 400 applicants, only 120 will be chosen. I actually do not know what to expect. So I am preparing for the worst but still hoping for the best.

 

P.S.

Million thanks to Kuya Louie, Kuya LJ and Ate Prishel for the tips and pieces of advice. And to those Ates and Kuyas who are members of the Adventist Medical Students Society, thank you for your prayers and encouragements. God bless your heart!

 

 

One thought on “Medical School Interview at WVSU

  1. Pingback: I Did Not Make It | Life Begins At Coffee

Leave a Reply

