Medical School Interview at MCU

20170629_151941-01.jpeg

I know this post is long overdue.

I had a unique experience in my application for MCU College of Medicine.

If you’ve read my previous Journey to MD Diaries, you know I did not make it to WVSU. So I tried to apply to Southwestern University (SWU) PHINMA which is in Cebu and Manila Central University (MCU) which is in Caloocan City. Unlike WVSU, both of these universities are private institutions so getting in is not as competitive as to state universities.

I passed the initial screening for both universities but the problem is the interview schedule which is too hectic given that Caloocan is an ocean away from Cebu. So I had to choose only one interview to attend. Long story short, I chose MCU.

But here’s the thing: I was interviewed twice. Uhuh. TWICE

First Interview

My first interview went really SMOOTH. Even the secretary in the COM Office was surprised that it lasted for only about 10 minutes. I was interviewed by a male doctor whose name I couldn’t remember. He was kind, gentle and friendly. Most of the questions he threw me are personal. And he ensured that I will be a good and excellent Centralino in the near future.  Baka mamaya mag-lead ka ng campaign or petition against the school, he joked.

All in all, I enjoyed the interview and I really felt that my presence is warmly welcome to the institution. The interview ended with a handshake and a warm “Congratulations”.

I exited the office feeling accomplished not until the secretary called me again and said I’ll have another interview next week. I was confused but I did not asked why. The following week, I went back to MCU for my second interview.

Second Interview

Unlike the first, this interview took twice as long as the first and was very serious. The interviewer was a female doctor who looks very serious and concerned. She threw me more personal questions such as What kind of friends do I have? How do I handle stress? What was the last thing I have written? What was the most difficult challenge I faced so far?

I could sense she wants to know more about my emotional side but I was totally clueless why. By the end of the interview, I had the opportunity to ask why I had to do the interview twice. Here’s what she said (nonverbatim): The reason why you are called again is because of the results of your psychological exam. You have a high tendency to get depressed and handle anxiety poorly.

(I took the psychological exam when I passed the application requirements three weeks ago.)

I was speechless.

That is when she summoned me to talk to the secretary and ask what’s next.

I was nervous when I walked out of the interview room. Much more nervous than when I went in. Am I not qualified? Will I be rejected again?

I was overthinking all possibilities and was actually preparing for yet another rejection. Despite, I still managed to keep calm as I sit and wait at the secretary’s desk.

I never heard a verbatim “You’re accepted” or “Welcome to MCU”. All I had was the secretary’s command for me to undergo Medical Examination as she handled me a form called “Enrolment Sheet”. With that, I assumed I’m in.

What Now

I finished the medical exam and was able to get all my laboratory results last Sunday. As of now, I am already on the enrolment process of which I am not sure I’ll finish because AUP has not yet released the documents I need. Also, I have been stressing about of my where-to-live because MCU is not a boarding school like AUP.

Besides all the stress and worry, I am thankful I have only a month to go before classes start. And I am still hopeful that everything will fall into place in God’s time. Through God’s provision.

Romans 8:28 –  And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to His purpose.

 

jessica

Leave a Reply

