Late Night with God

20170728_001810-01.jpeg

Regardless of our wordly positions, whether we are rich or poor, with or without degrees, God looks at us the same way. -Collegiate Quarterly, July 25, 2016

I have just recently moved in to my new place today where I will be staying (probably) for the rest of my graduate studies in MCU. This is the very first time that I’ll be living ALONE in a dormitory unit. And tonight is my first night.

I realized that being alone could be very advantageous at times. You get to do what you want to do. You have all the right in the world to meditate, think and reflect. Tonight, I spent a significant amount of my alone time with God.

Thursday has always been myΒ grace day to catch up with my readings and personal studies. These includes the reading plans I am subscribed to atΒ She Reads Truth, some pins I saved up on Pinterest, online readings from my favorite blogs, and the Collegiate Quarterly of our church’s Sabbath School and Personal Ministries.

I did my catching up tonight and it felt surreal because I was actually “alone” with God in this new dorm room I am at. I read Chapters 3, 4 and 5 of Galatians before I began reading my study guide.

The topic for this week smoothly transitioned from last week’s Justification By Faith. It is something I have always been fascinated about —Redemption and Faith.

I read about how the angels felt when Jesus told them that He’s coming down to die for the sinful world. There were also highlights about Abraham’s story which became our epitome of faith.

“…the happiest place on earth for [Abraham] is the place where God would want him to be.” -EGW, Patriarchs and Prophets pp. 64

The lesson basically points out that redemption, justification and faith are three things that are closely intertwined with each other. Christ died on the cross to redeem us but in order for us to be justified,we must have faith in the power of the blood of Christ.

On our own, we are helpless. No amount of money could save us. Not even our degrees, our good deeds nor our character. Salvation is only made possible through faith in Christ Jesus.

Christ redeemed us from the curse of the law, havingΒ become a curse for us. For it is written, “Cursed is everyone who hangs on a tree.” -Galatians 3:13

Leave a Reply

